通过分析优化铣削主轴

铣削主轴可用于使用各种材料制造出各种形状和模具(例如手机)。主轴装配在铣床轴上,铣床轴则作用于工件 — 在某些应用中,转速高达 100,000 rpm。这种主轴需要满足几微米 (μm) 范围内的极高精度要求!

问题

如想节省成本,不但要提高模具的产量,还需要缩短制造时间。举例来说,这可以通过提高铣削速度以及在 x-y-z 方向上增加所有铣床轴的进给运动来实现。因此,所有机械部件的加减速增多将导致不平衡力(由提高主轴速度导致)和惯性力(轴运动)增大。这将导致振动等级提高且精度降低,因为工件表面会因为振动而劣化。

可提高精度的一个重要参数是铣床的整体机械构造和个别主轴的特定机械构造。刚度和阻尼对铣削过程中的振动行为以及已制造工件的精度具有显著的影响。
第二个会影响制造时间的参数,是可提高材料去除效果的转速(高达 100,000 rpm)。在这一速度下,不平衡力具有显著的影响。

考虑到这两个参数,整体的振动等级必须相对较低,才能实现所需的精度。

测量

VIBROPORT 80OverallsTracking 模块(一个加速度传感器和一个光学速度传感器)用于以可变速度执行几项振动测量;Report & EXaminer 软件用于对数据进行后处理,以了解有关系统行为的详细信息。

考虑到较高的速度,必须采用稳健的速度测量,因此需要考虑几个参数,比如工作速度、轴的表面和直径(以反光带或触发标记为准)、外部影响(如噪声或电磁场)等。

首先,在 Overalls 模块中执行主轴滑行测量(f(n) mm/s rms 对比速度)。接下来,再次启动主轴,并使用 Tracking 模块重复执行滑行。原始时间数据(通过在一段时间内单一集成传感器信号和触发器信号获得的速度振动)得以获取并存储。然后,使用 Tracking 模块的后处理功能,从已存储的原始振动数据中计算出一阶 Bodé 图。所有这些文件都被传送至 Report & EXaminer 软件以计算瀑布图和光谱图,这好比是铣削主轴的“指纹”。

最后,使用特殊光标验证所有测量数据和已后处理(计算)数据的正确性和一致性。

优点

图表的计算、分析和评估是现场机器专家优化其铣削主轴的起点,例如改变刚度或阻尼从而降低总体振动等级。

通过在主轴使用寿命期间跟踪主轴的此类图表,基准测量值(生产主轴时测得)的偏差可以帮助识别其他需要优化的领域、检测发展性劣化并增加维护间隔时间。

Analyses to optimize milling spindles

Photo of Spindle

Milling spindles are used to manufacture a variety of shapes and molds (e.g. for mobile phones) out of various materials. The spindle is assembled on a milling machine axis which operates on the work piece – in some applications with up to 100,000 rpm. Such spindles need to fulfill extremely high accuracy requirements within the range of some microns (μm)!

Problem

To save costs respectively increase the production volume of molds, the manufacturing time needed to be reduced. This could be achieved for example by milling at a higher speed as well as by increasing the feed motion of all milling machine axes in the x-y-z directions. Accordingly, the unbalance force (due to the higher speed of the spindle) respectively the inertial forces (movement of axes) increased due to increased acceleration and deceleration of all mechanical parts. This led to higher vibration levels and a decreased accuracy as the work piece surface deteriorated due to the vibrations.

One important parameter to increase accuracy is the mechanical construction of the milling machine in total and of the individual spindle in particular. Stiffness and damping have a remarkable impact on the vibrational behaviour during the milling process and to the accuracy of the manufactured work piece.
The second parameter that influences the manufacturing time is the high speed of up to 100,000 rpm to increase material removal. At this speed, unbalance forces have a remarkable impact.

Considering both parameters, the overall vibration levels MUST be relatively low to achieve the required accuracy.

Measurements

The Overalls and Tracking Modules of the VIBROPORT 80, an acceleration sensor and an optical speed sensor were used to perform several vibration measurements at variable speed; the Report & EXaminer Software was used to post-process the data in order to learn more about the system behaviour.

In view of the high speed, a robust speed measurement was important, hence several parameters needed to be considered, such as the operating speeds, the surface and diameter of the shaft in regards to the reflective tape or trigger mark, external influences like noise or electromagnetic fields etc.

First a measurement of a coast down of the spindle was performed in the Overalls Module (f(n) mm/s rms vs. speed). Next the spindle was started again and the coast down was repeated using the Tracking Module. The raw time data (velocity vibration by single integration of the sensor signal and the trigger signal over time) was acquired and stored. Then, using the post-processing capability of the Tracking Module, a 1st order Bodé diagram was calculated from the stored raw vibration data. All these files were transferred to the Report & EXaminer Software to calculate a waterfall diagram and a spectrogram, which can be considered to be a “fingerprint” of the milling spindle.

Finally, the correctness and consistency of all measured data and the post-processed (calculated) data was verified by using special cursors.

Benefits

The calculation, analysis and evaluation of the plots were the starting point for the machine experts on site to optimize their milling spindles, e.g. by changing the stiffness or damping and thereby reducing the overall vibration level.

By tracking such diagrams of a spindle over its life time, deviations to the reference measurement (taken at production of the spindle) can help identify further areas for optimization, detect developing deterioration and help increase maintenance intervals.