液化天然气厂状态监测

Brüel & Kjær Vibro 深知液化天然气行业面临的挑战,并在 15 年的时间里一直向液化天然气行业提供成功的安全、状态和性能监测解决方案。

卓越品质,遥遥领先

  • 全自动监测。这可以确保针对各种工作条件捕获并分析数据。
  • 早期故障检测。实施监测技术,以便在故障形成的早期阶段检测出潜在故障模式,从而在机器意外出错之前采取行动。事后验证工具当然非常重要,但 Brüel & Kjær Vibro 的监测理念首先有助于避免机器出现故障。
  • 高分辨率事件监测。Brüel & Kjær Vibro 可围绕用户定义事件记录多达 15 分钟且分辨率极高的详细数据。
  • 远程诊断。我们的远程诊断团队可随时为您提供各种级别的诊断和分析支持。

行业维护要求

液化天然气厂中的机械设备,特别是液化过程中涉及的那些机械设备,均须经受极端的工作条件。冷冻剂压缩机、泵或水轮机在低温度下于启动和满负荷生产之间的热膨胀非常剧烈,从而使轴承和其他机器组件在启动和停机期间承受极高的负荷。即使待处理天然气的成分仅发生微小变化,也可能对机器的总负荷造成显著的影响。此外,许多机器均在可变速度和负荷下运行;从而使机器组件发生故障前的平均时间多变且不可预测。
机组规模变得越来越大,过度设计的余量正在减少,而关键机器组件都被划归到同一个轴上。多年来,这些已推出的举措均旨在节省生产成本,但如果单台关键机器出现故障,这些举措也会因此提高生产损失的风险。而工厂的裁员行动和该行业竞争激烈的特性使这一风险进一步加剧。

尽管因关键机器故障导致更大规模停产的风险增加了,对停机时间的容忍度却比以往任何时候都低。如果液化天然气厂液化环节的某台机器出错,在失去冷却能力之前,您只有几个小时的时间来确定原因,并让机器再次恢复正常运行。否则可能导致整条生产链停机时间延长。

由于机器具有诸多运行和维护要求,而行业成本节约举措涉及的风险升高,状态监测在维护公司竞争力方面发挥着至关重要的作用。

应用解决方案

在液化天然气行业和所有其他行业内,Brüel & Kjær Vibro 均完全专注于提供必要的系统、诊断和详细支持信息,以帮助避免计划外停机;无论客户位于何处,或在现场具备什么水平的技术专长和资源。Brüel & Kjær Vibro 可通过防止机器故障,帮助最大限度地减少停机时间,而不仅仅是在事件过后了解所发生的情况!这基于多年来不断发展和完善的专用监测理念,可确保从机械设备启动的那一刻起就实现最佳的结果。

液化天然气厂专用监测策略

液化天然气厂中的机械设备,特别是液化过程中涉及的那些机械设备,均须经受极端的工作条件。冷冻剂压缩机、泵或水轮机在低温度下于启动和满负荷生产之间的热膨胀非常剧烈,从而使轴承和其他机器组件在启动和停机期间承受极高的负荷。此外,即使待处理天然气的成分仅发生微小变化,也可能对机器的总负荷造成显著的影响。此外,许多机器均在可变速度和负荷下运行;从而使机器组件发生故障前的平均时间多变且不可预测。

如下所示,典型的液化天然气厂包括若干机组和流程。我们目前监测全球许多不同液化天然气厂各个流程的许多机器。液化过程是液化天然气厂的主要流程之一。

往复式压缩机

在监测密切程度方面,这些维护密集型机器往往不及离心式压缩机。利用我们现代化的监测策略,您可以卓有成效地监测往复式压缩机。

离心式和轴流式压缩机(丙烷、混合冷冻剂、闪蒸尾气)

在用于石油天然气行业的所有机器中,离心式压缩机是应用最广泛的机器之一。石油天然气行业有许多压缩机流程,机器则有同样多的配置来满足这些流程的要求。各种具体的流程应用均具有个性化的监测要求。压缩机在液化天然气行业发挥着同等重要的作用。轴流式和离心式压缩机有时具有许多侧流,均可用于在液化过程中压缩低温冷冻剂气体。下图中描述的监测策略示例基于典型的丙烷、混合冷冻剂和闪蒸尾气压缩机应用。

燃气轮机(单轴)

燃气轮机作为原动机广泛应用于石油天然气行业。虽然与其他机器相比,运行燃气轮机并不需要大量维护,但有效的监测对于确保最佳正常运行时间和可靠性至关重要。由于功率输出和特定燃料消耗对燃气轮机的使用期运行成本影响巨大,工厂的性能也必须加以仔细的监测。下图中描述的监测策略示例基于单轴工业应用。

液体膨胀器

变速水轮机液体膨胀器可用于涡轮机内的等熵膨胀高压重质混合冷冻剂或液化天然气,以进一步降低流体的温度,并同时产生电能。发电机和轴承在大约 -160° C 的温度下低温浸没在液化天然气中。轴承和其他组件上的热应力较高,因此维护非常重要。监测策略如下图所示。

低温泵

低温泵(如液体膨胀器)具有在大约 -162° C 的温度下低温浸没在液化天然气中的电动机和轴承。轴承和其他组件上的热应力较高,因此维护非常重要。监测策略如下图所示。

电动机、发电机

电动机和发电机广泛应用于许多工业流程中。它们具有各种规格,因此采用的具体监测策略取决于应用。下图中描述的监测策略示例适用于闪蒸尾气压缩机采用的大型电动机。

齿轮箱

齿轮箱本身不是机器,而是一种机器组件,用于将某一速度下的原动机旋转能量以另一速度转换至从动机。齿轮箱广泛应用于许多工业流程,采用的具体监测策略取决于应用。下图中描述的监测策略示例适用于闪蒸尾气压缩机组齿轮箱。

液化天然气厂专用监测系统

我们的机器监测产品可以轻松连接到用户的过程控制系统 (DCS)、企业和维护管理系统、紧急停机系统、操作人员工作站、甚至其他已有监测系统。在上述许多应用中,都需要具备安全远程通信功能的远程监测。下图为液化天然气厂内机器的示例。

我们用于状态监测解决方案的产品

Condition monitoring of LNG plants

Picture of LNG plant at night

Brüel & Kjær Vibro is keenly aware of the challenges in the LNG industry and has been providing successful safety, condition and performance monitoring solutions to the LNG industry for over 15 years.

The crucial quality advantage

  • Fully automated monitoring. This ensures data is captured and analysed for all operating conditions.
  • Early fault detection. Monitoring techniques are implemented to detect potential failure modes in their early phase of development, so action can be taken before a machine trips unexpectedly. Post mortem tools are of course essential, but Brüel & Kjær Vibro’s monitoring concept helps to avoid the machines failing in the first place.
  • High-resolution event monitoring. Brüel & Kjær Vibro records detailed data with extremely high resolution for up to 15 minutes around a user-defined event.
  • Remote diagnostics. Our remote diagnostic team stands by to assist with all levels of diagnostics and analysis support.

Machines in an LNG plant, especially those in the liquefaction process, are subject to extreme operating conditions. The thermal expansion of a refrigerant compressor, pump or hydraulic turbine between start up and full production at cryogenic temperatures is intense, thereby subjecting the bearings and other machine components to severe loads during start-ups and shut-downs. Even small variations in the composition of the natural gas being processed can have significant effects on the overall loading of the machines. Furthermore, many machines are operated at variable speeds and loads; thereby rendering the mean time before failure for the machine components both variable and unpredictable.
Machine trains are becoming larger, over-design margins are diminishing and critical machine components are being grouped on the same shaft. These initiatives were launched over the years to save production costs but they also consequently increase the risk of lost production if a single critical machine is down. This is further compounded by efforts to downsize at the plants and the very competitive nature of the industry.

Despite the increased risk of a larger portion of production being stopped because of a critical machine failure, downtime is tolerated less than ever. In the case of a machine trip in the liquefaction portion of an LNG plant, you only have a few hours to determine the cause and to get the machine up and running again before losing cooling capacity. Failure to do so can result in extended downtime of the entire production train.

As a result of the operation and maintenance requirements of the machines and the increased risks involved with the industry cost-saving initiatives, condition monitoring plays a vital role in safeguarding the company’s competitiveness.

Within the LNG industry as in all other industries, Brüel & Kjær Vibro is completely focused on providing the necessary system, diagnosis and detailed supporting information necessary to help avoid unplanned machine downtime; no matter where the customer is located or what level of technical expertise and resources they have on-site. Brüel & Kjær Vibro helps minimize downtime by preventing machine failures, rather than just understanding what happened after the event! This is based on a dedicated monitoring philosophy that has been developed and refined over the years to ensure optimum results are achieved right from the start-up of machinery.

Monitoring strategy

Machines in an LNG plant, especially those in the liquefaction process, are subject to extreme operating conditions. The thermal expansion of a refrigerant compressor, pump or hydraulic turbine between start up and full production at cryogenic temperatures is intense, thereby subjecting the bearings and other machine components to severe loads during start-ups and shut-downs. Moreover, even small variations in the composition of the natural gas being processed can have significant effects on the overall loading of the machines. Furthermore, many machines are operated at variable speeds and loads; thereby rendering the mean time before failure for the machine components both variable and unpredictable.

The typical LNG plant includes several trains and processes, as shown below. We are currently monitoring many of the machines in each of these processes in a number of different LNG plants around the world. The Liquefaction process is one of the primary processes in the LNG plant.

LNG Plant Machines monitored scheme

These maintenance-intensive machines are often monitored less closely than centrifugal compressors. With our contemporary monitoring strategies, you can monitor reciprocating compressors efficiently and effectively.

Reciprocating Compressor monitoring techniques scheme
Reciprocating Compressor vibration measurements scheme
Reciprocating Compressor dynamic pressure measurements scheme
Reciprocating Compressor dynamic performance measurements scheme
Reciprocating Compressor dynamic tacho measurement scheme
Reciprocating Compressor dynamic process measurements scheme

Of all the machines used in the oil & gas industry, the centrifugal compressor is one of the most widely utilized. There are numerous compressor processes in the oil & gas industry, and equally numerous machine configurations to meet these process requirements. The monitoring requirements are also individualized for each specific process application. The compressor plays an equally important role in the LNG industry. Both axial and centrifugal compressors, sometimes with many side streams, are used for compressing low temperature refrigerant gases in the liquefaction process. The monitoring strategy example described in the images below is based on a typical propane, mixed refrigerant and end flash gas compressor application.

Centrifugal compressor measurements scheme
Table of faults detected at compressors
Monitoring strategies for detecting potential failures.
Centrifugal compressor vibration measurements scheme
Centrifugal compressor tacho measurements scheme
Centrifugal compressor process measurements scheme
Centrifugal compressor performance measurements scheme

The gas turbine is widely used in the oil & gas industry as a prime mover. Although there is not a lot of maintenance needed for operating a gas turbine in comparison to other machines, effective monitoring is crucial to ensure optimal uptime and reliability. As power output and specific fuel consumption have a huge impact on the lifetime operating costs of the gas turbine, plant performance also has to be carefully monitored. The monitoring strategy example described in the images below is based on a single-axel industrial application.

Gas turbine measurements graphic
table of faults detected at gas turbines
Monitoring strategies for detection of potential failure modes.
Gas turbine vibration measurements graphic
Gas turbine tacho measurements graphic
Gas turbine process measurements graphic
Gas turbine performance measurements graphic

The variable-speed hydraulic turbine liquid expander is used for isentropically expanding high-pressure heavy mixed refrigerant or LNG across a turbine to further reduce the temperature of the fluid while at the same time to generate power. The generator and bearings are cryogenically submerged in LNG at a temperature of around -160° C. The thermal stresses on the bearings and other components are high, so maintenance is critical. The monitoring strategy is described in the images below.

Liquid expander measurements graphic
Table of faults detected at liquid expander
Monitoring strategies for detecting potential failure modes.
Liquid expander vibration measurements graphic
Liquid expander tacho measurements graphic
Liquid expander process measurements graphic
Liquid expander performance measurements

The cryogenic pump, like the liquid expander, has the motor and bearings cryogenically submerged in LNG at a temperature of around -162° C. The thermal stresses on the bearings and other components are high, so maintenance is critical. The monitoring strategy is described in the images bellow.

Cryogenic pump measurements graphic
Table of faults detected at cryogenic pumps
Monitoring strategies for detecting potential failure modes.
Cryogenic pump vibration measurements graphic
Cryogenic pump tacho measurements graphic
Cryogenic pump process measurements graphic
Cryogenic pump performance measurements graphic

The electric motor and generator are extensively used in many industrial processes. They come in all sizes, so the specific monitoring strategy used depends on the application. The monitoring strategy example described in the images below is for a large motor used for the end flash compressor.

Motor Generator measurements graphic
Table of faults detected at a motor/generator
Monitoring strategies for detecting potential failure modes.
Motor Generator vibration measurements graphic
Motor Generator tacho measurements graphic
Motor Generator process measurements graphic

The gearbox is not a machine in itself, but a machine component for converting the rotational energy of the prime mover at one speed to the driven machine at another speed. The gearbox is extensively used in many industrial processes, and the specific monitoring strategy used depends on the application. The monitoring strategy example described in the images below is for the end flash compressor train gearbox.

Gearbox measurements graphic
Table of faults detected at a gearbox
Monitoring strategies for detecting potential failure modes.
Gearbox vibration measurements graphic
Gearbox tacho measurements graphic
Gearbox process measurements graphic

Monitoring system

Our products for machine monitoring can be easily interfaced to the user’s process control system (DCS), enterprise and maintenance management systems, emergency shutdown system, operator work stations and even other pre-existing monitoring systems. In many of these applications remote monitoring with secure communications over long distances is a requirement. The image below is an example for the machines in the LNG liquefaction plant.

Monitoring system LNG graphic

Products we use for our condition monitoring solutions

  • Flexible, fast, reliable: Data acquisition platform for more than protection

    Integrates data from any protection system for Condition Monitoring.

    Powerful software package for secure wind turbine monitoring

    Precise acceleration, vibration speed and non-contact displacement sensors

  • Scalable solution beyond machine protection for plant-wide condition monitoring

    VDAU-6000

    The 16-channel system for scalar data reporting and early fault detection

    The allrounders for machine diagnostics, balancing and condition monitoring

    High-quality accessories form the perfect complement to your monitoring solution